Director
Uskali Mäki

uskali.maki@helsinki.fi

In practical matters, please contact our research assistant:

Jessica North
jessica.north@helsinki.fi

Research team Helsinki

Sonja M. Amadae
sm.amadae@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: Normative theory, political theory, philosophy of social science, history of political and economic thought, security studies, and rational choice.

N. Emrah Aydınonat
emrah.aydinonat@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Twitter @aydinonat

Topics of interest: Philosophy and methodology of economics, models and explanation in economics, invisible-hand explanations, economics made fun, institutional economics.

Raul Hakli
raul.hakli@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: collective intentionality, collective epistemology, social ontology.

Säde Hormio
sade.hormio@helsinki.fi
Home page

Topics of interest: collective responsibility, collective agency, marginal participation, complicity, climate ethics, agnotology.

Tuukka Kaidesoja
tuukka.kaidesoja@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Topics of interest: philosophy of the social sciences, mechanism-based explanations in sociology, social ontology, relationship between the cognitive and social sciences.

Tomi Kokkonen
tomi.kokkonen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science (biology, psychology, and foundational issues in social sciences and humanities) and philosophy of mind.

Topics of interest: biological approaches to human mind, behavior and culture; explanation and evidence across disciplinary borders; altruism; evolution of social behavior; evolution of morality; innateness; human nature.

Jaakko Kuorikoski
jaakko.kuorikoski@helsinki.fi
Home page

Topics of interest: Explanation; Causality; Mechanisms; Statistical causal modelling; Rational choice theory; Simulation.

Pekka Mäkelä
pekka.a.makela@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: Social action; Social ontology; Moral aspects of social action; Philosophy of the social sciences.

Uskali Mäki
uskali.maki@helsinki.fi
Home page

Topics of interest: Explanatory unification within and across disciplinary boundaries; Modes of interaction between economics and its neighbours; Explanatory pluralism; Economic models and their truth; Economic philosophy of science; Local scientific realism.

Magdalena Małecka
magdalena.malecka@helsinki.fi

I work at the intersection of modern and contemporary philosophy, philosophy of science, legal theory, and the social and behavioural sciences.

Current research interest:
applications of economics to law (especially their methodological and philosophical implications); approaches to law and policy based on findings in behavioural sciences (analysis and critique); representations of nature in the legal and political realm (historical and philosophical analysis)

Caterina Marchionni
caterina.marchionni@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Areas of specialization: philosophy of economics, philosophy of the social sciences.

Topics of interest: modeling, simulation, scientific explanation, unification, interdisciplinary relations.

Luis Mireles Flores
luis.mireles-flores@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialisation: philosophy of the social sciences, epistemology and methodology of economics, history of economic analysis.

Topics of interest: causal inference, evidence, causal generalisations, practical relevance of science, positive and normative economics in relation to policy-making, the methodology of applied macroeconomics, uses and misuses of econometric methods as sources of evidence, scientific perspectivism, classical political economy, inferential reconstruction of economic theories.

Michiru Nagatsu
m.nagatsu@gmail.com
Home Page

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science; Philosophy of Social Science; Philosophy of Economics.

Topics of interest: Experimental Philosophy of Science; Metaphysics and Methodology of Behavioural Economics, Experimental Economics and Neuroeconomics; Foundations of Human (Ir)rationality and Sociality.

Samuli Reijula
samuli.reijula@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Twitter @samulipo

Topics of interest: social epistemology of science; evidence-based policy; nudging; probabilistic modelling (in cognitive science); AI; agent-based models; classification, concept formation & kinds.

Mikko Salmela
mikko.salmela@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophical psychology, especially theoretical and applied philosophy of affects.

Topics of interests: the role of affects in the structure and dynamics of social groups; types of collective affective states.


Milutin Stojanovic
milutin.stojanovic@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophical psychology, especially theoretical and applied philosophy of affects.

Research team Tampere

Inkeri Koskinen
inkeri.koskinen@tuni.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of anthropology, philosophy of the humanities, science and values, social epistemology, objectivity, relativism, participatory and collaborative research.

Arto Laitinen
arto.laitinen@uta.fi
Home Page

Professor of Social and Political Philosophy at the University of Tampere.

Topics of interest: social ontology, ethics and political philosophy, theories of mutual recognition and normativity.

Kristina Rolin
kristina.rolin@tuni.fi
Home page

Research fellow

Areas of specialization: philosophy of the social sciences, especially social epistemology and feminist epistemology.

Topics of interest: social values in the social sciences, diversity in the social sciences, collective beliefs in science, epistemic responsibility, contextualism in philosophy of science.

Doctoral students

Alessandra Basso
alessandra.basso2@gmail.com

Areas of specialization: philosophy of social science, philosophy of economics.

Topics of interest: philosophy of measurement, experiments in economics, evidence, confirmation, time discounting, evaluation of climate models.

Sofia Blanco Sequeiros
sofia.blancosequeiros@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science, philosophy of social science, philosophy of economics.

Topics of interest: scientific experiments (particularly in economics), evidence, extrapolation, evidence-informed policy, causal inference, scientific modeling, values in science and political philosophy.

Ilmari Hirvonen
ilmari.hirvonen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science, philosophy of language, linguistics (psycholinguistics, morphology)

Topic of interest: philosophy of pseudoscience

Mikko Hyyryläinen
mikko.e.hyyrylainen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: cognitive social sciences, field theory, sociology of scientific knowledge.

Tero Ijäs
tero.ijas@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of biology and biomedical sciences, design and engineering, biotechnology, systems and synthetic biology.

Tomi Kokkonen
tomi.kokkonen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of science (biology, psychology, and foundational issues in social sciences and humanities) and philosophy of mind.

Topics of interest: biological approaches to human mind, behavior and culture; explanation and evidence across disciplinary borders; altruism; evolution of social behavior; evolution of morality; innateness; human nature.

Teemu Lari
teemu.lari@helsinki.fi
Twitter @teemulari

Topics of interest: philosophy of economics, pluralism in economics, relationship between science and politics, social epistemology, science and values.

Touko Martikainen
touko.martikainen@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: philosophy of anthropology, interaction between fields of specialization within anthropology, evidence and explanatory competition in the social sciences and humanities.

Matti Sarkia
matti.sarkia@helsinki.fi

Topics of interest: social ontology, scientific modeling, mechanistic explanation, interdisciplinarity.

Päivi Seppälä
paivi.a.seppala@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of social science, philosophy of history.

Topics of interest: theories of causal explanation, discrimination, philosophy of psychology, organization studies, values in science, societal biases in AI.

Tuomas Vesterinen
tuomas.vesterinen@helsinki.fi

Areas of specialization: philosophy of language, philosophy of science, anthropological theory.

Topics of interest: theories of reference, natural kinds, causal explanation, philosophy of psychiatry (especially culture-bound syndromes).

Anita Välikangas
anita.valikangas@helsinki.fi

Topics of interests: philosophy of social sciences, scientific evidence in policy-making, political philosophy, philosophy of economics, governmentality.

Affiliates

Erik Angner
Stockholm University
erik.angner@philosophy.su.se
Home Page

Alkistis Elliott-Graves
Bielefeld University
a.elliott-graves@uni-bielefeld.de
Home Page

Judith Favereau
Université Lumière Lyon 2
judith.favereau@univ-lyon2.fr
Home Page

Manuela Fernández Pinto
Universidad de los Andes
m.fernandezp@uniandes.edu.co
Home Page

Till Grüne-Yanoff
Royal Institute of Technology
gryne@kth.se
Home Page

Wade Hands
University of Puget Sound
hands@pugetsound.edu
Home Page

Frank Hindriks
University of Groningen
f.a.hindriks@rug.nl
Home Page

Harold Kincaid
University of Cape Town
Harold.Kincaid@uct.ac.za

Tarja Knuuttila
University of Vienna
tarja.knuuttila@univie.ac.at
tarja.knuuttila@helsinki.fi

Rami Koskinen
University of Vienna
rami.koskinen@univie.ac.at

Aki Lehtinen
Nankai University
aki.lehtinen@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Chiara Lisciandra
University of Groningen
c.lisciandra@rug.nl
Home Page

Miles MacLeod
University of Twente
m.a.j.macleod@utwente.nl

Alain Marciano
Université de Montpellier
alain.marciano@umontpellier.fr

Carlo Martini
Vita-Salute San Raffaele University
uni.c.martini@gmail.com
carlo.martini@helsinki.fi
Home Page
Twitter @martinicarlo

Martina Merz
Alpen-Adrian-University
Martina.Merz@aau.at
martina.merz@helsinki.fi

Kaarlo Miller
kaarlo.miller@helsinki.fi

Johan Munck af Rosenschöld
Helsinki Institute of Sustainability Science
johan.munckafrosenschold@helsinki.fi
Twitter @JohanMafR

Karoliina Pulkkinen
Aleksanteri Institute
karoliina.pulkkinen@helsinki.fi
Twitter @kj_pulkkinen

Jani Raerinne
Academy of Finland
jani.raerinne@helsinki.fi

Henrik Thorén
Lund University
henrik.thoren@fil.lu.se
Twitter @Henrikthoren1
Home page

Adrian Walsh
University of New England
awalsh@une.edu.au
adrian.walsh@helsinki.fi
Home Page

Julie Zahle
University of Bergen
Julie.Zahle@uib.no
Home Page